Teaching and Learning

My brother in-law has decided to learn English language and asks for my help, of course I do not take money for teaching. That’s not me. But he offers to help communicate more in Czech language. I think that is best learning strategy that we could come-up.

The first few minutes, was a little bit hard because I do not know how far he already knows. So literally, few minutes was about catching up and to become more comfortable to each other. Afterwards, we looked up his homework which was about using “that, those, this, and these” which is easier to discuss with him. There are some misunderstanding though, which is pretty normal.

He is improving but I guess four hours of his intensive course a day is a little bit odd. They never discussed some important basics, which supposed to be at the beginning in order for him to communicate a little bit. I observed that they jumped-up quite far ahead into learning words without discussing even the question that begins to ” Where?”.

I think his teacher forgot to teach him to introduce himself, and follow by any questions related to personal information. That is pretty basic that most language schools are trying to priorities at the beginning of the course.

Well, honestly I will be so happy to teach him more, but unfortunately I couldn’t do more because I do not want to mess with his head. Maybe, it will be too much for him learning something different from me, and different from his teacher; so I guess we will be just repeating and practicing what ever he learns from school.

The last few minutes was communicating and asking questions in Czech language, which is part of my learning. My brother in-law asks me questions in Czech and I am obliged to respond in the same language. It wasn’t that hard, but of course I am not a genius. I still have many words/phrases to learn, because Czech words actually has many synonyms and some of them are not familiar to me. It’s best to learn most of it, because I might encounter Czech local who uses different word than I already knew. That’s bad!

Anyway, we have another session coming up so, I guess it’s gonna be great!

Have a great day!

Leave a comment